Indiana
Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
Indiana permit practice test
Free practice for the Indiana BMV knowledge test — no account, no paywall. Every answer explains why and links to the rule it comes from.
Searching for the Indiana DMV practice test? In Indiana, driver licensing is handled by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
- Earliest permit
- 15
- Test
- 2 parts
- Pass mark
- 80% each
— = not confirmed. Sources in the facts section below.
Practice for the Indiana knowledge test
88 questions available · free · no account · progress stays on this device
Loading your saved progress…
Indiana licensing facts we could verify
Each fact names its source and how we read it. Where an agency doesn't publish a detail, or blocked our checker, we say so instead of guessing.
- Licensing agency
- Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles
- Earliest learner permit
- 15 (enrolled in approved driver education); 16 otherwiseSeen in the official site's search listing — the page blocked our checker, so confirm it there · Learner's Permit · checked October 12, 2026
- Knowledge test format
- Traffic signs: 80% to pass · Traffic maneuvers: 80% to passTwo separately scored sections; the question count is not stated.Read on the official page · Knowledge Exam · checked October 12, 2026
- Official test online?
- Not confirmedNot stated on the official pages we could read.
Official handbook
Indiana Driver's Manual ↗Linked from the agency's site. We have not yet read it page by page, so this page has no state-specific questions from it yet.
Official handbook; linked, not reproduced.
Ready for the real thing?
Appointments, documents and fees are set by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles. Always book through the official site.
Go to the Indiana BMV site ↗Specific to Indiana
Rules that differ from state to state
We haven't yet verified Indiana-specific rules against its own handbook, so practice here uses national-standard signs, signals and markings — which apply in every state — plus safe-driving technique. State-specific numbers such as parking distances or alcohol limits are left out rather than borrowed from another state.
RoadSense Studio
See the situation, then decide
Step through real intersections. Only scenes whose rule we verified for Indiana (or that rest on the national standard) appear here.
Indiana · verified scene
Left turn on a solid green
A green light permits your left turn — it does not protect it.
Green light. Your light is solid green. You want to turn left. A red car approaches from the opposite direction, going straight.
Rule: On a circular green you may go straight or turn, but turning traffic yields to pedestrians in the crosswalk and to vehicles in the intersection, and a left turn also yields to oncoming traffic close enough to be a hazard.
- Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways, 11th Edition with Revision 1 — Section 4A.03 A.1
Read the whole scene as text
- Green light: Your light is solid green. You want to turn left. A red car approaches from the opposite direction, going straight.
- Decision point: You have pulled forward to the stop line. The oncoming car is close and still coming.
- Oncoming car passes: You wait. The oncoming car passes straight through.
- You turn: With the way clear, you complete your left turn.
Sample questions
Answers and sources are in the page, so they work without JavaScript.
Sample 1 · National standard
What does this sign require you to do? (Red octagon STOP sign)
- Slow down and continue if no one is coming
- Come to a full stop, then go only when it is safe
- Stop only if other vehicles are at the intersection
- Stop only when turning
Show answer
Come to a full stop, then go only when it is safe. An octagon is used for STOP and nothing else. It is placed where a full stop is always required, so you stop completely every time, then proceed only when you can do so safely.
Source: Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways, 11th Edition with Revision 1, Section 2B.04; Table 2A-1
Where this page stands
- State facts not yet reviewed by a human editor
- No state-specific rules verified yet (handbook not read or not retrievable)
Common questions
Indiana permit test, answered
How many questions are on the Indiana permit test, and what do I need to pass?
The Indiana BMV publishes: Traffic signs: 80% to pass · Traffic maneuvers: 80% to pass. Two separately scored sections; the question count is not stated. Source: Knowledge Exam.
How old do you have to be to get a learner permit in Indiana?
15 (enrolled in approved driver education); 16 otherwise. Source: Learner's Permit (confirm on the agency site).
Can I take the official Indiana knowledge test online?
Not confirmed — Not stated on the official pages we could read. Our practice is online, but it is not the official test.
Is this the official Indiana BMV test?
No. FuelWide is independent. Our 88 practice questions are written by us and the official test is given only by the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
What does the Indiana test cover?
Every state tests road signs, signals and pavement markings (a national standard), right-of-way, and safe-driving practice, plus its own laws — parking distances, alcohol limits, school-bus and emergency-vehicle rules. The Indiana Driver's Manual is the source of truth.
More for new Indiana drivers
- Road sign trainer — every standard U.S. sign shape and color
- Indiana gas prices — what filling up costs today
- Fuel cost calculator — budget your first car's running costs
FuelWide Driving Academy is independent. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or run by any state motor vehicle agency or government body, and its practice sets are not the official knowledge test. Book and take the real test only through the Indiana Bureau of Motor Vehicles.
